Follow by Email

Monday, January 16, 2012

MLK council celebration receives strong support from community

Today, on Mon. 16, 2012, at 1:00 p.m. the Dr. Martin Luther King Multicultural Council, Inc. celebrated it's 22 annual MLK celebration honoring the life and vision of  Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Scores of people flocked to Congregational Albert in North East Albuquerque to enjoy the celebration. The event was highlighted by 29 scholarship recipients from high schools throughout New Mexico. Each student received a $1000 for submitting an outstanding essay  based on the teachings of Dr. Marin Luther King. Scholarship recipients entertained the audience with a talent show and read excerpts form their winning essays.

The MLK Council also awarded retired UMN Public Information Officer Mr. Frank D. Martinez, and the Roadrunner Food Bank of New Mexico for their contributions to the Albuquerque community. An impressive list of  24 individuals and business were recognized for their generous contributions to the scholarship fund, including Bank of America and Smith's Food and Drug Stores.

The event was a success despite Mayor Richard Berry's recent action to lump all "Black Events" into one month. and ignore the significance of the celebration. A formal, written correction was attached to the last page of the program, denouncing Berry and the City of Albuquerque's lack of support.

A list of financial supporters follows:

Ann Yeck
Bank of America
Cathy Intemann
Congregational Albert
CORLEY'S Albuquerque Lincoln - Mercury - Volvo
Ethicon Endo-Surgery, Inc.
Given by Jennifer C. Kruger in honor of Clarence P. Mitchell and Marianne Mitchell Olsen
In Memory of Christopher M. Torres
Dr. Jack and Betty Bobroff
Jeffery Pasquier
Dr. John B. Mondragon
Judy Basen Weinreb
Karen C. Limas
Karl Johnson and Michelle Ginger
Lockheed Martin/Sandia National Laboratories Corporation
McCune Charitable Foundation
Modrall Sperling Roehl Harris & Sisk P.A.
New Mexico Japanese American Citizens League
Rio Rancho Community Foundation
Ruth Boulders
Second Presbyterian Church
Smith's Food and Drug Stores
University of New Mexico, Division for Equity and Inclusion
Wells Fargo

Scholarship recipients may not in order of picture: Le'Sean Amos, Shannon Archuleta, Evan Bleakly, James Boney, Somi Phaybouth, Nicolas Bryers, Ujwal Chada, Amber S. Chavez, Esperanza Coca, Shantel Cross, Andres Gallegos, Ashley M. Gee, Julissa Hunte, Nicole Kerperien, Abby Luu, Jaynie McConnell, Cesar Miranda, Duc Nguyen, Rachel Oestreich, Crystal Quintana, Katelynn R. Raney, Amanda Sanchez, Caress Simpson, Jessica Stoddard, Alexander J. Thomas, Marika Lois Ann Trujillo, Devont'e Kurt Watson Sheneille Wilson, Shuqi Xiao

No comments:

Post a Comment